Poulet Au Porto

Roast Chicken Steeped with Port Wine, Cream, and Mushrooms

How to Master the Art of French Cooking by Julia Child p.245

If your looking for a dish to impress, that is both beautiful, delicious, and easy, well look no further. This recipe is simple, in-expensive and oh so good. The 5lb whole chicken cost me about 4.50, the shallots, and green onions were a dollar, and the mushrooms about the same. I used up some remaining red wine from the previous weeks recipes, as I had a hell of a time finding a Port. So for $6-12 its not an expensive dish to make and can be paired with any number of vegetables or other sides to suit. My 5lb chicken fed three adults and a toddler with half or more of the chicken left, which means it could have potentially fed at least six adults and probably an additional child or two.

IMG_7395

This was only the second roasted chicken I have ever made, so since the recipe had some leeway in the roasting directions, I made it the way I did before. What I did was coat, well really massage about half a stick of butter all over the chicken, and then sprinkle it with herbs de providence. (Use your favorite spices) Once it had cooked at 325*F for an hour, I poured about a 1/4c of the wine over the top, and turned up the temperature to 400*F. Once it started to juice, I used a ladle to baste the chicken as I don’t have a bulb baster. (Remember poultry takes 30minutes/lb to cook; hence I had to start the chicken at 2:00 for it to be done by 4:30) For the last 10 minutes turn on the broiler to let the skin brown. [I LOVE crispy chicken skin]

pouletporto2

The sauce was actually really easy and quick to make, although since I use a toaster oven and not a full size oven I finished it stove top instead of in the roasting pan. I also skipped the Flambé Cognac both out of convenience, and the fact that we drank all the brandy and I didn’t have a chance to pick up more… not to mention that the idea of turning my face away as I light liquor over a chicken, kind of scares me. Maybe another time. I semi-carved the chicken into slices and poured the mushroom sauce on top allowing the chicken to soak in the sauce for a few minutes before serving. It was beautifully moist and the sauce was a nice creamy compliment of flavors; which also paired nicely with the wild rice pilaf I made as a side.

Let me know how it turns out for you, and if you do the cognac, let me know if its as scary as I suspect it to be.

Kat

 

Image Sources:
Roast Chicken: Taken myself (iPhone) [Actually took that one to brag to my hub]
Roast Chicken in sauce: Taken Myself (Canon 5D Mark II)
Recipe: Screen shots from PDF -> mediafire.com/file/hble408se6g4rxe/Mastering+the+Art+of+French+Cooking+-+Julia+Child.pdf

What are your thoughts?

