Culinary Comprehention

Clip-art-fork-knife-plate-clipart-kid-2A few posts back I wrote about how I wanted to take up a project that would be less constricted by finance or time. Honing my culinary skills was just what I’ve been looking for. My mother always had my brother and I in the kitchen and I have always enjoyed cooking for others although, my baking is/was lacking some considerable skill, or attention to detail. As much as I would love to, I’m not in a position to take any cooking classes or even go back to school for a culinary degree, but I can enhance my skills right at home.

lorangeAs great as Pinterest is not all bloggers write out all the little techniques that can make or break a dish. Stumbling upon a free pdf copy of “Mastering the Art of French Cooking” really excited me as this book was so thoughtfully written out down to the smallest of details in technique, and each recipe is broken down into ingredients and the steps along side laid out differently than how standard recipes are. (Pictured Right) To be honest, that is what I love most about the book. I love cookbooks, the pictures, the unique backstories, and autobiographies that accompany them. I love finding unique books even if some of the recipes are something I would never or reluctantly try, or even ethically have a dilemma in cooking (like veal or lobster).

Some of the recipes in the books I find call for rare or expensive ingredients, but I don’t want that to hinder me from cooking my way though these books. I don’t think compulsory cooking my way though one book like Julie Powell, would suit my current situation or ambition level. Mainly the reason being that everyone in our house is so da*n picky. My husband wont eat chicken, and EVERYTHING has to have either ketchup or cheese. My son although more willing to try foods, still is young and his taste buds are sensitive. He only eats about 5-10 bites of anything, unless its pasta then he eats at least two bowlfuls. My in-laws are use to eating the same thing, and as they are Mexican like to put chili or hot sauce etc.; on pretty much everything. My brother in-law although his presence is a rare occurrence, will only eat chicken, ham, turkey, rice, pasta, bread, certain vegetables and mozzarella, and will often resort to just eating the same thing his mother has always prepped for him.  I’m a little more willing to try new foods as long as they are not too spicy, as I am a “supertaster”.

cookbooks

Never the less, I am determined to work my way though both “Mastering the Art of French Cooking” as well as a couple other books I have recently purchased. I have decided to alternate the new recipes I try, with some new/repeat standard “American” dishes from my Pinterest to appease my picky family members.

Potage Parmentier Tonight

potage parm
Mastering the Art of French Cooking

 

What are you eating?

Send me some of your fam favorite recipes!

Katrina


 

Images:
Recipe screenshots : https://appparkcentral.com/campaign/drinkresult3/?ID=asplyflx&sub=asplyflx&n=1&subid=101&S2={s2sparam}
Cookbooks: Myself via Canon 5D Mark ii
Clipart Fork/knife: http://clipartall.com/clipart/10091-knife-and-fork-clipart.html

One comment on “Culinary Comprehention

  1. […] Some recipes I have previously used usually call for about 3 leeks and about 3 lb of potato. This time around I used Julia Child’s recipe from “Mastering the Art of French Cooking” as I am attempting to work my way through the book. (For those of you whom have not read my past two or three blog posts. read them HERE -> FAMILY MEALS, FAMILY MEALS PT.2 and CULINARY COMPREHENTION) […]

    Like

What are your thoughts?

