Family Meals

As my numerous projects enter various stages of completion, they also come to stages of stagnancy, whether it be budget, time, skill, inspiration etc. and other projects trade off to being in the spotlight. So, as my bigger projects hit a wall, I find new or smaller projects to occupy my time. I have been looking for a new project that would further develop existing skills and would be less constricted by the above obstacles.

Something that I really love to do is cook. [Thank you mom!] My mother always had us helping out in the kitchen, and we always had a slew of commercial kitchenware salvaged by my father from closed down pool halls. My brother loves cooking even more than I do and they always encouraged him to make it a career but, he didn’t want to go to school to learn, he wants to learn under someone.

Fact of life, everyone has to eat. Unfortunately sharing a kitchen with my in-laws who eat very differently than my husband and I makes cooking and storage a constant war zone. “Too many cooks in the kitchen.” Not to mention, our oven doesn’t work so about 80% of my meals are cooked in a (larger) toaster oven. [I finally managed to get a hold of our landlord, and yay me, I get a new stove/oven in a few weeks! (after two years of begging my husband to ask. Men….HA.)] But I’m getting off-track.

We convinced my in-laws to let me cook for a week, which included ALL of the grocery shopping. We usually try to stay on a food budget of about $100 weekly/biweekly for the two (and a half) of us. My menu for the week is a little “rich” as I am trying out a number of new French recipes which include a few expensive cuts of meat, cheese and other odd things I don’t usually buy.

fcccac493b0e05210ade94760997c6cb

_____________________________________________________________________________

This upcoming “trial” weeks menu is as follows:

SUNDAY:
Lunch: leftovers and marinated chicken tenders and fresh market vegetables
Dinner: Asparagus Gruyere tart and Tomate, Oeuf, jambon (proscitto) tart

MONDAY:
Dinner: Poulet a la Provençal

TUESDAY:
Lunch: Rice Enchilada Casserole
Dinner: fillet mignon in white wine and mushroom reduction (I was unable to locate any fillet mignon cuts at local markets; I had to go with a different cut of steak)

WEDNESDAY:
Dinner: Croque Monsieur

THURSDAY:
Dinner: Coquille St. Jacques

FRIDAY:
Dinner: Trempette de boeuf (French Dip Sandwiches)

SATURDAY:
Lunch: Chicken Fajita Rice Bowl
Dinner: Spinach Leek Feta Frittata

_____________________________________________________________________________

I am both excited and anxious over this weeks endeavor. But, whether or not they or I, decide to continue, I can and will keep on finding new recipes to try. I found a free digital copy of Julia Child’s “Mastering the Art of French Cooking” which I am excited to dive into. (although I am really not a fan of digital books- let me reiterate, I HATE digital books, I like a physical tangible book, especially cookbooks.) I also found a beautiful book on Modern/Traditional Italian dishes, “Tasting Rome” by Katie Parla and Kristina Gill at T.J Maxx, with some beautiful illustrations.

Well, Bon Appetit!

Kat

 

2 comments on “Family Meals

What are your thoughts?

