Black Coffee

20-01-17 “The best new thing I’ve tried today is…”

Well, it’s not new, today per say, since I’ve been trying it each day this week; Black Coffee. First I take a few sips black, then I add a bit of sugar, and take a few sips, then I end up adding my Silk Almond Caramel Creamer… It’s a progress. What’s the reason you may ask, for wanting to drink my coffee black?  Well, other than the more obvious reason of trying to get off, extra sugars, dairy/nondairy creamers; I have heard and read numerous benefits to drinking coffee black, whether it be health or just being to taste the authenticity of the specific variety of bean.

What’s the reason you may ask, for wanting to drink my coffee black?  Well, other than the more obvious reason of trying to get off, extra sugars, dairy/nondairy creamers; I have heard and read numerous benefits to drinking coffee black, whether it be health or just being to taste the authenticity of the specific variety of bean. Whatever the case I would like to experience that, whatever that is, exactly. (I’m really not quite sure, but that’s kind of the point of a/the journey right,? to figure that out.)

I don’t really drink coffee for the caffeine; it really has little to no effect on me. But, I drink it for the taste… or so I thought. I had boughten a “gourmet” coffee blend from Wholefoods to try something “new”, and the aroma and the taste were AMAZING! The specific flavor of bean was/is called “Chocolate Raspberry Truffle” and very much a dessert style coffee. The thing is, when I tried coffee black for the first time, on purpose, it just tasted like bitter water, not even really coffee-like. I do not enjoy the taste of water, I seriously don’t even drink water unless I’m hiking… or dying downtown Atlanta in the mid of summer. I’m trying to re-train my palette, so maybe I just need to barrel through the drudgery/ misery. I really want to rid myself of that dependency upon cream/oil and sugar.

But, in keeping with trying to speak to myself more positively, I told myself: ” it’s okay to like your coffee that way, there is nothing ‘wrong’ with it.” I think I’d just like to be able to enjoy it both ways… after all, no one said it had to be one, or the other. I am really hoping to find/try a p

While on the topic of coffee, and trying new things, I am really hoping to find/try a (cute aka. aesthetically pleasing) pour over style craft, instead of your “traditional”/”conventional” drip percolator. ( I am anything but conventional.)

How do you take your coffee? Do you drink it black? how did you learn to like it?

Kat

 

What are your thoughts?

