Thoughts

January 17, 2017

Prompt: I love to write because…

I love to write, because, I feel that writing helps me express my thoughts and to organize them more efficiently. I am out of practice when it comes to writing to be quite honest. In the past three years, the most of my writing has mainly consisted of grocery lists and seemingly pointless social media posts.

I miss writing, real writing. I miss being alone with just my thoughts, no noise. Whether it is relaying something that happened into a journal, a short story, or what have you, I just haven’t done ANYTHING for far too long. I am happy I have found a way to add writing back into my life. It has become almost a cathartic personal time, just me, my pen and notebook, silence, and the thoughts in my head.

To be honest, I think that is why I loved school as much as I did. All the writing; as stressful as I find deadlines, and grades…. who doesn’t. This is why I don’t fully agree with the idea of institutionalized education. But, I won’t get into that now. I should really try to push myself again, but it’s much easier when you’re told what topic you are to write or to even follow a certain format. I never really learned how to write for myself. This makes me feel sad, and let down by my educators.

Part of me has always had this ‘ideal’ fantasy, I guess you could call it, where I would imagine myself in a quite wooded cabin, reading and writing the day away.  Windows hazy and full of condensation from my hot tea steaming up the cool rain dripped panes. Numerous knit blankets and pillows surrounding me in a shroud of comfort. I don’t think there is any better feeling in the world. This is definitely my happy place, and I hope one day to find, or maybe even create it.

Why do you like to (or maybe not like to) write?

Kat

What are your thoughts?

