Value

I have decided that I  am going to share, the daily writing prompts I work on. I may not share every day as sometimes the prompts tend to be personal, and I like to maintain a certain level of privacy in my life. If I decide not to share an entry I will leave the question, statement or thought, at the bottom of the next essay that I do share. I take no more than 5-10 minutes to scribble down my thoughts on the subject, not worrying about content, grammar, spelling etc. I just get my thoughts out on the paper, close the book, and move on to my next activity.

January 16, 2017

Writing Prompt of the day: “An interesting new phrase I’ve learned is…”

“Does this add value?”

This simple question has made me really more mindful of everything I do. whether it be something I say, something I go to post online or something I plan on buying. I t has really helped put things into a different perspective, and as the minimalists would put it only share “the best version of me.”

It has become like a filter; taking the way I process my thoughts and actions and taking out the negatives… although, I am human, Impulsive, and my husband might note a few areas I could continue to work on.

It has also made me want to create again, not just “share” the article or funny video that everyone else is sharing that day. I’m working to create something I truly hope will add value not only to my life, as I work to complete it but, add value to others lives, once it is complete.

This question or phrase has a truly profound power in transforming or re-shaping your mind and the way you go about your day-to-day life.

Kat

What’s your interesting new phrase?

I would love to see what you write or think from the prompts I use. Feel free to leave a comment below, reach out to me on social media or email me at kat_tschirhart@hotmial.com

Additional:

I have been listening to the minimalists podcasts for a while now, and I can say, that this something that beyond a doubt has truly added value to my life. During their episodes they often share things they have used, done, seen, read, etc that have added value to their lives as well, which I think is such a great thing. I highly suggest you check it out, its free, and they talk about a wide variety of topics. I often put on the podcast while I’m out walking, cooking, or doing chores I don’t particularly enjoy, like folding laundry.

I have had so many new phrases enter my life in the past few months, it was really hard to just choose one, but this one I use daily. Some others I have added to my life are:

  • Use it up, Wear it out, Go Without
  • Is this/that kind, loving or respectful?
  • If it is important, It will get done, if not, it is not worth the stress
  • He who buys what he does not need, only steals from himself
  • It’s not a good deal, if you don’t need it

One I have been using with Caspian a lot is “..” is unavailable. In attempts to stop saying “No” and create a dialogue, as well as explanations, to reduce the amount of toddler tantrums. So far, this method has been HIGHLY effective for us.

What are your thoughts?

