A Plant Based Diet – 2

If I’m being honest, breakfast is the hardest meal for me. As hungry as I am in the mornings, I rarely feel like eating. There are very few “breakfast foods” I enjoy. (Which is why often growing up I’d just eat leftovers) I found a cobbler recipe I like from the forks over knives cookbook; But, I can’t eat it consecutively. An old favorite that I usually make as a snack made a debut this week: ‘fried’ peanut butter and banana sandwich.

Like I aforementioned in ‘WFPB 1/52’ I’m in a bit of a transition period. I gave in a little bit and bought a ‘vegan’ mayo (just mayo) and a vegan butter (earth balance light olive blend), which are literally just whipped oils. But, many of my transition dishes/ vegan recipes I’m trying to replace some favorites call for these items.

Caspians favorite this week… Blueberries. Which although are out-of-season the local farmers market had an amazing price, so no complaints here.

Sunday

Breakfast: Cas had granola/ rice crisp cereal with almond milk. Jule had refried beans (and an egg), and I had a fried PB/ banana sandwich.

Snacks: blueberries, whole wheat crackers, banana,

Lunch: veggie-dog on whole wheat with whole grain and veggie tortilla chips.

Dinner: bean veggie chili (Jules/ my Inlaws had beef added in theirs)

img_4094

img_4095

img_4092

Monday

Breakfast: 

Potato, Onion, Mushroom Hash
I also made my stock from the previous week’s scraps. This is by far the best “life hack.” Simply store all your veggie scraps in a gallon ziplock bag and put it in the freezer. Once filled dump in a pot, cover with water and boil for 2-4h. Store in an airtight glass container and use for rice, soups, frying, etc.

Corn, mushroom, potato, sweet potato, cilantro, spinach, celery

 

TUESDAY

I  had some random 16h bug that started around 2 am. Caspian woke to nurse at 3 and woke up quiet when usually he cries in his sleep and flails about. As I grit my teeth and shudder sore and cold, yet being covered by 5 blankets, I nurse my toddler. After he finally finishes a sigh of relief leaves my chest, as I turn over to fall back asleep, muscle pains and difficulty breathing hits me like a ton of bricks. I moan and emit these groans attempting to offset my pain by frequency. My husband half asleep sputters “…” I burst into tears the sudden pains over taking me. My compassionate toddler sits up hugs and kisses me, patting my back as if our roles were reversed. — anyway needless to say I spent the day in bed and did not eat much. We snacked on fruit and a few multigrain chips and that was it.

For dinner, when I finally got enough energy to stand up, I made Julian authentic enchiladas with Verde sauce, which is his favorite.


Verde Sauce:

Tomatillos – Husked (Green Tomato with outer leaves)
Cilantro  -chopped
Onion – halved or quartered
(Jalapeno) *optional, take seeds out to cut on some of the heat

Boil until Tomatillos and Onion are soft, transfer to blender and Puree until smooth.


WEDNESDAY

Breakfast:  I wanted to see what all the hype was about with these “Smoothie Bowls”. Caspian did not get it and was upset his smoothie was in a bowl, he picked out the banana. Personally, I liked it but found it was too cold on my teeth. It was filling though and I didn’t need to snack all morning.

 

Smoothie Bowl – Banana, Strawberry, Mango and Peach
Lunch: Caspian kept asking to eat the fake burger dog toy, so I made us some veggie burgers.

 


Dinner: Unknown. Likely Leftovers, we had lots of random bits of food to eat up, we had a rough week.

THURSDAY

 

img_4176
Corn Cakes with Pico de gallo / Chunky Avocado Salad.
They were supposed to be pancakes but the cornmeal I was using was too wet from the frozen corn. I’m going back to using fresh corn… 

FRIDAY

 

Like I said in the beginning… breakfast for me is so hard. I made this amazing Vegan blueberry muffin…again fresh is always better than frozen. I kind of winged this recipe going off my standard muffin concoction.

More Enchiladas… We had to use up the Verde sauce. I used leftover roasted vegetables and rice as a filling… OH THATS WHAT IT WAS… (Wednesday night I had roasted veggies and Jules had chicken cooked in vegetable stock with spices.)

Dinner, not pictured, was noodles with a homemade tomato pepper sauce. It was mediocre but I was starving so I ate it.

 

img_4195
Vegan Blueberry Oatmeal Breakfast Muffin

 

img_4205

SA-TUR-DAY

I tried to replicate the muffin for breakfast with frozen blueberries… it did not turn out as nice. and was much chewier. Lunch we again had Enchiladas and finished up the Verde sauce, I think Jules got his enchilada fix for a while.

Dinner we got a bit lazy and got Subway, since Friday we had a spat about dinner since my inlaws made tacos, and well… I can’t eat all that meat.

This was my first time attempting to eat out not eating dairy, meat or eggs. I can safely say I did not miss the ham or cheddar… okay maybe just a bit. But, honestly the sub was so packed I didn’t even notice. Jules called it a salad on bread… which really is what it was.

img_4245
Multigrain Honey Oat Bread with Onion, Lettuce, Tomato, Peppers, Cucumber, Pickle and Sweet Onion Sauce 

I’m so over this week, it was not one of our better weeks. I’m looking forward to trying to figure out some more creative meals, although Jules is starting to loose faith in my cooking attempts. I think we will have to play it a bit safer this week coming up, I know for sure I’m going to probably make 2 different types of spaghetti because I’ve been craving some great baked spaghetti. I’d love some suggestions for lunches or dinners, and if you have any awesome breakfast suggestions that would be a godsend.

I attempted to make some vegan Cranberry Oatmeal cookies but my ingredients were a bit off, so they turned into soft baked bars, which will be great for quick snacks and breakfast on days when I’m just not feeling it.

Happy Eating.

Katrina

 

What are your thoughts?

