A Plant Based Diet – 1

An introduction into my transition into a Wholefoods Plant based diet, and our weekly family meals.

I am starting a new ‘journey’ with my food. Due to some minor health issues, and allergies; I have decided that switching to a plant-based diet is what is best for me at this point in time. Without getting into it too much, I have had a bad gut for years, which has made my body very acidic and has caused damage to my teeth, as well as acid reflux from time to time. I could just get a probiotic but I don’t want to dish out the cost for a good quality supplement but that’s only going to be a band-aid on a much larger issue. My acne I’ve known for a while is an allergy to dairy, and probably more specificly the protein found in dairy. I also have had a few episodes with something called dumping syndrome, which is where your food gets dumped from your stomach to your small intestine without being properly broken down and digested. This is very painful and even causes my eyes to black out even though I’m fully conscious. I really want to be able to heal my gut with REAL food, and not just take endless supplements or medications. I stumbled upon two documentaries, one called, “Food Matters”, and “Forks over Knives.” after watching these two and doing a bit of side research, I decided this is the best way for me to achieve my goal.

What is a plant based whole foods diet? Well, you can read more HERE about it. But, basically it’s “A whole food, plant-based diet is centered on whole, unrefined, or minimally refined plants. It’s a diet based on fruits, vegetables, tubers, whole grains, and legumes; and it excludes or minimizes meat (including chicken and fish), dairy products, and eggs, as well as highly refined foods like bleached flour, refined sugar, and oil. (FORKS OVER KNIVES)

In essence, it’s veganism but without processed foods, oils, and various fats.

Personally, I see veganism as the ethics against eating meat or animal by-products. Which honestly, I have no problem with the thought of eating such foods as I believe that God has given us animals for food. But I do believe that animals should be treated kindly during their lives and should be killed in as humane way as possible. I try to source the meat from my family from farms that are grass fed, free range etc and not so mass produced/ killed as the general population of animals. We originally cut back our meat to help with the environmental impacts as well which you can read/ watch about in various documentaries and websites. So for that reason, I don’t think I’d ever call myself a “Vegan” although my diet closely mimics that of a Vegan. I will be in a transition period where I will be using oils and eating certain processed foods like bars, and bean/veggie chips, I hope in time I can wean myself off. But, as I am very petite and have trouble keeping on body fat, it may be better for me to keep it in my diet.

I’m going to be sharing the various recipes I/we try, and my twists on my families favorite dishes. I will try to provide links where I can but, it will be much easier if you follow my board on Pinterest.

Feel free to comment below or reach out to me on social media.

Pumpkin Pancake with Potato and Onion Hash

Mix Veg/ Corn Chowder

Salad Spring Roll with Hummus and Corn SoufflΓ©

Veggie-Noodle Soup

Baked Butter Squash and Carrot with Corn Fritters and Mixed Rice

White Bean Alfredo
This weeks favorite: corn fritters, baked butternut squash. The noodle soup was the baby’s favorite. Jules liked the Whole Wheat-Oat flour cinnamon rolls I made for snack this week. (Not pictured)
This weeks never again: white bean alfredo. This is the second veggie version I’ve tried and neither have met my expectations as far as Alfredo goes.

Jules liked the pumpkin pancakes but I found them too dense; I may have to play with the recipe. (Same for my pumpkin muffins.)  I also need to tinker with the soufflΓ© (I used a different flour which is why it didn’t turn out as nice as the fritters.) The corn chowder was okay, it was sweet and makes a filling lunch, but it wasn’t love.

Happy Healthy Eating

Kat

One comment on “A Plant Based Diet – 1

  1. It is really cool that you decided to follow a plant-based diet. I’ve doing it for a year now and I really like it so. It has helped me with a lot of issues which I had before! πŸ™‚ I read that you have problems keeping body fat?
    I am getting my bachelors in Human Nutrition at the moment. If you have questions or anything, I might be able to help you. πŸ™‚

    Like

What are your thoughts?

