D.I.Y natural acne mask

I have my issues with acne, blah, blah, I’ve been over it a million times, majority of it is stress and hormone related, and pretty much out of my control. 

One of my favorite products that really helps manage my acne is Que Bella tea tree and witch hazel mud masks found at target for just under $2. I can usually do two makes with one pouch, which means I really get my money’s worth. I also love the fact that they are 80% naturally made. 

But, I don’t always remember to grab them when I’m at target, and when I get a bad break out I don’t want to run all the way to target for just a mud mask. (Ok, yeah I do… but hubby won’t go for it) So what’s a girl to do? It’s simple really. 

  • 3tbs baking soda
  • 1-2tbs witch hazel 
  • 1 tsp coconut oil
  • 3-5 drops of tea tree oil 
  • Clean foundation brush & a bowl 

Apply generously avoiding eye area. Wait 10-15 minutes for it to dry. Once dry, massage gently to exfoliate skin or wipe with a luke warm wash cloth or splash cool water while exfoliating.  Done. 

Wait! But why these ingredients? 

Tea tree oil:” It has antiseptic and antifungal properties that help prevent acne.It deeply penetrates skin to unblock the sebaceous glands. This disinfects the pores, dries out whiteheads, pimples, zits, and blackheads, and prevents further outbreaks.It is used as an antiseptic that removes damaged skin cells.It balances skin by controlling oil production. It has natural antibacterial properties that treat cystic acne naturally. It penetrates the skin to unblock the sebaceous glands, disinfect pores, and dry out blemishes.” HomeRemediesForLife

Coconut oil: “The main reason for the efficiency of coconut oil for face acne is its anti-inflammatory and antibacterial action. Penetrating into the skin, oil kills germs and bacteria, neutralizes the inflammation, and helps pimples to point; Coconut oil for skin acne has regenerating and clarifying properties.”NoSkinProblems

Witch hazel: “witch hazel shrinks the skin, it reduces the sizes of the pores and, therefore, reduces the extent of clogging of those pores by dead skin cells, bacteria and sebum.Secondly, the astringent property of witch hazel can act deep enough at the capillaries feeding the follicle cells. Witch hazel causes the constriction of these blood vessels which means more oxygen and nutrient-rich blood are supplied to the follicle cells.” ProgressiveHealth

Baking soda: a gentle natural exfoliant “helps unplug pores, clear dead skin and destroy acne-causing bacteria.” MDHealth

So there you have it, no need for expensive astringent or cleaners with harsh chemicals and parabens. Try it out, let me know how it works for you. 

Kat

 

4 comments on “D.I.Y natural acne mask

What are your thoughts?

