Finding my Tribe


I’ve have had a small handful of ‘close’ friends throughout my life, but no one that continuously stuck through every stage of my life. I’ve never had that best friend that you do everything with and were inseparable, as much as I envied everyone else who did. 

I’ve never been one to go out of my way to say hi first, or make the initiative, I’m just too much of an introvert I guess. I would always have my brother or a friend/acquaintance break the ice. 

Lately the quote “your vibe attracts your tribe” which I whole heartedly agree. 


I do have a handful of friends …online that share my beliefs and values. But, the fact remains that I have no “physical” friendships…other than my husband, I love you sweetie, but sometimes, it’s just not the same-enough, I really don’t know how to explain it. 

The two biggest issues trying to make friends in the past two years is: First of all, that I moved to a whole different country and left everything and everyone I knew behind. Although Facebook and Instagram have been lovely for keeping in touch with both friends and family. Secondly, I’m at a really weird stage in my life, I have a baby  toddler…I don’t know, He’s almost one, and I’ve been married almost two years. Those we know are either still in college, just barely dating, newly engaged, or newly married … And the ones with children, their oldest is closer to my age then I am to them, which isn’t a big deal but it just makes for an awkward demographic/ generation-gap, and it’s not always easy to find common ground. 

Yes, it’s lonely, for a number of reasons, but I’m not getting hung up on it, because fact of life is, sometimes you find your tribe early in life, and sometimes you find it when your more ‘mature’. The only thing you can do, is be who you are, without reserve, stand up for your beliefs and values, not everyone will agree with you and that’s okay; because, someday…it might be a group or a single person, but someone will come into your life, with whom you will connect, and you will grow a beautiful friendship, and it will blossom over time, and you will have your tribe. 

One comment on “Finding my Tribe

  1. I totally know what you mean. My life is in a totally different place than my friends. It can be a little weird, but it will work out. Good luck finding your tribe !!(:

    Like

What are your thoughts?

