Creating Our Urban Homestead 

 
After a bit of searching, brainstorming and what have you, I decided upon a name for our “future” homestead. RAW-N’WILD GARDENS (say it like running wild) The funny thing is, it wasn’t one I wrote down, or even thought about, it just kinda came to me one morning while making my tea. 

Everything I had read about homestead or farm naming said to use ideas from the type of property you have, but since we have no idea when- where we are moving it kind of frustrated me….

But let me back up a bit….

So in our search for a new home I decided that I wanted to create a homestead, but have been put a-back by the many ups and downs of the process. Where we currently live we are limited by the county and are not allowed to get chicks this spring, which has really saddened me. So for the time being I decided to focus this homesteading endeavor and energy into my gardening. But, since we don’t know when we will be moving, it will all be container gardening. Upside to that is it will be much easier for me to car for with my free spirited wild child of a son. 

I have/had been reading all kinds of info from permaculture, sustainability, various types of gardens and farming, animals and care. Just hours of mindless research on every related subject and multiple movies and documentaries on similar topics. 

..So back to having a name for our homestead but no actual homestead. It’s been really rough, and this back and forth trying to find a home has got me down.  But, what brightened my day was what has been come to known as “URBAN” homesteading. 

By definition Urban Homesteading is “a lifestyle of self-sufficiency. It is characterized by subsistence agriculture, home preservation of foodstuffs, and it may or may not also involve the small scale production of textiles, clothing, and craftwork for household use or sale.” 

So house, or not, property or not, I can still classify my endeavors as homesteading! Yay! And if you really want to get into it, in fact that what I’m currently creating, falls under what has been come to known as the “Salatin Style/System” (named for the style of permaculture farming by Joel Salatin of Polyface Farms.) If you ever listen to a podcast or watch a video about his ideas of a modern day farmer, a reoccurring theme is mobility. The ability to pick up and move your whole production, if the need, arise. Which works perfect for our current situation. 

So no matter where we are now or where we end up, however big or little; Our hobby farm, homestead, or whatever you want to call it- name from here on out is “RAW-N’WILD GARDENS”.

Xo

I’d love to hear your feedback 🙂 

3 comments on “Creating Our Urban Homestead 

  1. Cool post and great name! I feel like I’m stuck in the same transition period, we have just sold and are searching for our homestead. Until we get the property, however, I am limited to reading and planning. I hadn’t actually considered naming the homestead before we found it, good idea!

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

